Fashion designer “ELLIOT MANN”

EM_withname

PARA ESPAÑOL BAJAR HASTA EL TEXTO EN AZUL

On a cold and gray day (which was very typical that time of year in Minneapolis) I decided to go shopping to see if I could cheer myself up. I noticed a store with a gorgeous picture window that had a bohemian and unique handbag that drove me crazy.  I had to have it!  Right then I knew that the orange handbag was for me and that was how ELLIOT MANN entered onto my list of favorite designers. There has not been a single day that I don’t get compliments when I wear it. A few weeks ago I was in NYC and I was curious to go to the their flagship store. Once again, I went nuts with everything they had. We spent a delightful afternoon with their staff and my family.  Of course I left with another ELLIOT MANN handbag!! Very grateful to Louise, Perri and Richard for all the attention and affection.

I am very honored to have ELLIOT MANN on my blog. Thanks for accepting the interview 🙂

1) How did you start Designing?

I have been drawing and making up designs since I can remember. So creating a label was a natural way to go for me. Elliot Mann was founded in 2005 and this is after having gained experience, working for other design companies.

2) As a child, what did you want to be when you grew up (and have you grown up yet)?

Hm, as a child I wanted to do everything. I was interested by everything around me. I always loved travel, was drawn to culture and cultural differences and so I think Elliot Mann is a great combination of all interests combined.emfw16astorplacepostcard

3)   Do you have influences that are specific from your country Denmark? Or the Scandinavian region?

I think that it’s clear in Elliot Mann designs that there is some Danish/ Scandinavian influence. Our style, even though the colors are loud and bold, is still sleek and well thought out.

0000318044147e35_x4)    Where do you get your inspiration?

1478299643929

I get my inspiration from my daily life, really. It can be anything. I am always thinking in new designs. The creativity isn’t lacking here;)

5)    How do you define your style?

Design w/ personality and class.

6)    Where are the bags made?
1479511232444

All the bags are designed by Elliot Mann. We are a large team of incredibly skilled people making our crazy ideas reality. From NYC to DK to Turkey to South America and to South East Asia. We couldn’t have done it without any of those people.

7)    Are they handmade?

Everything we do is handmade and it takes a lot of different hands and a lot of different skills to complete one bag.

I love everything handmade. I love to be able to make anything from scratch with my bare hands.

8)    How many lines do you carry? Only bags?307586_10150271554949975_397804338_n

We also make full clothing collections as well as accessories.

9)    How many stores do you have?

We have one flagship store in New York City and sell to 300 stores around the world.

10)  Do you have any expansion plans in the USA or what are your future plans?

We are planning to focus on our home market more, which we haven’t done much so far so stay tuned;)

ESPANOL

EM_withname

Un día nublado y frio de esos que solemos tener aquí en Minneapolis en esa época del año, decidí irme de compras a ver si se me alegraba el día. Me llamó la muchísimo atención una tienda ya que su vitrina tenían una cartera súper diferente. Su diseño bohemio y colorido me volvió loca. Me la tenia que comprar!! Ahí mismo supe que esa cartera anaranjada era para mi y que ELLIOT MANN había entrado en mi lista de diseñadores favoritos. No ha habido un solo día que no reciba cumplidos cuando la uso. Hace unas semanas estuve en NYC y tenia curiosidad de ir a la tienda principal y así poder ver otras carteras. Realmente quedé enloquecida con todo lo que tenían. Pasamos una tarde deliciosa con la familia y por supuesto que salí con otra cartera ELLIOT MANN 🙂

Muy agradecida con Louise, Perri y Richard por toda la atención y el cariño.

Me siento muy honrada de poder tener a ELLIOT MANN en mi blog. Gracias por aceptar la entrevista.

1)¿Cómo empezaste a diseñar?

Desde que tengo memoria, siempre me ha gustado pintar y diseñar…. por eso fue fácil para mi crear la marca.  Ha sido un proceso completamente natural para mi. Elliot Mann fue fundada en 2005 y esto ha sido después de haber ganado experiencia y de poder trabajar para otras empresas de diseño.

2) Cuando era niño, ¿qué querías ser cuando crecieras (sientes que ya creciste)?

Hm, como todo niño quería hacer de todo. Me interesaba todo lo que me rodeaba. Siempre me ha gustado viajar. Me atraen las otras culturas y aprender de ellas. Estoy seguro que Elliot Mann es una gran combinación de todos esos intereses.

emfw16astorplacepostcard

3) ¿Tiene influencias específicas de tu país Dinamarca? ¿O de la región escandinava?

Creo que está claro que los diseños de Elliot Mann tienen un poco de influencia danesa / escandinava. Nuestro estilo, aunque los colores son fuertes y audaces, sigue siendo elegante y bien pensado.

0000318044147e35_x4) ¿De dónde sacas tu inspiración?

Obtengo mi inspiración de mi vida cotidiana.. puede ser de cualquier cosa .. Siempre estoy pensando en nuevos diseños .. la creatividad nunca falta; )

5) ¿Cómo defines tu estilo? 1478299643929

Diseño con personalidad y con clase.

6) ¿Dónde están hechas las carteras?

Todas las carteras están diseñadas por Elliot Mann. Somos un gran equipo de gente increíblemente capacitada que hacen realidad nuestras ideas locas. Desde NYC a DK , Turquía, Suramérica y Asia del sudeste. No podríamos haberlo hecho sin ninguna de esas personas.

7) ¿Son hechas a mano?

Todo lo que hacemos es hecho a mano y se necesitan muchas con diferentes habilidades para completar una cartera.

Me encanta todo lo hecho a mano. Me fascina poder hacer algo desde cero con mis manos desnudas.

1479511232444

8) ¿Cuántas líneas llevas? Solo carteras?

También realizamos colecciones completas de ropa, así como de accesorios.

9) ¿Cuántas tiendas tienen?307586_10150271554949975_397804338_n

Tenemos una tienda insignia en Nueva York y vendemos a 300 tiendas en todo el mundo.

10) ¿Tiene algún plan de expansión en los Estados Unidos o cuáles son tus planes futuros?

Estamos planeando centrarnos mas en nuestro mercado doméstico que aunque no lo crean no hemos hecho mucho. Así que estén muy pendientes con todo lo que vamos a hacer 😉

Leave a Reply

