FATIMA OLIVE (PROFESSIONAL MAKEUP ARTIST).” The simplest is the most beautiful.”

PARA ESPAÑOL BAJAR HASTA EL TEXTO EN AZUL.14364887_1440398702654978_93604944127485597_n

Fatima describes herself as a Cuban-American wife, mom, cheerleader of her daughter and professional makeup artist.

Fatima arrived to Florida (Usa) in the belly of her mother. She believes that her parents were heroes for having been able to leave Cuba with only 20 pesos, speaking only a little English and not even knowing what they were going to do once they landed in the United States.

Who inspired you to do professional makeup?

Definitely my sister, she is very creative. She was always playing with different hair styles, wore false eyelashes and applied makeup on all her friends. I also remember that she sewed all my Barbie’s clothes.

1420552384How were your beginnings?

I studied theater and then I got the license to be a hairdresser in Miami. I was studying during the day and working at night at the theater.

How were your beginnings in the world of professional makeup?

My boyfriend had a friend who was a photographer and he asked me if I wanted to do makeup for models. That is how I started in Boston.Then, I went to Buffalo NY and a photographer stopped me on the street and asked me if he could take some pictures of me, although his approach was strange, I decided to do it. It turned out, that the photographer was very well known at that time. He hired me to be the professional make-up artist in his studio. It was luck and a tremendous experience.

How did you start working with Aveda?

A friend was using Aveda products and his girlfriend was the representative in Florida. They called me because the makeup artist at the corporate offices left and they were looking for a hair and makeup person to take her place. So I moved to Minneapolis and started with them.I undertook the development of their products and trained the students. It was a very rewarding experience.When Estee Lauder bought Aveda, I decided to be freelance. I was traveling between NYC and Miami. Although I continued for a while in Aveda helping developing their products.

Which other companies have you worked for?

Unique Yambal, which is a South American company, with whom I helped developing their products. I also worked at QVC selling makeup. The truth is, I’ve done everything.

What is your philosophy while doing makeup?img_6011

Now everyone is crazy about all the contour and the style of Kim Kardashian’s makeup. For me, the simplest is the most beautiful. I think we have to appreciate our inner beauty, our self esteem and be secure of who we are. The makeup should be used to improve the imperfections and to highlight the things we have perfect. When I do makeup I try that people don’t feel that they have a thick layer, but rather try to do it as natural as possible. Although I have made that kind of makeup but I can count it with one hand.

When have you done that kind of makeup?602854_orig

I’ve done it for presentations or when someone needs to look younger or older.

Do you do makeup for bridal parties?

Not really. My clients hire me for long photo sessions that can take me a week of work. I am constantly traveling. Obviously, I have done some weddings but small ones. I do not like working at big weddings. When I do, I only do the bride’s makeup, not the entire family.

What is  the ideal makeup for a bride ?

I think that brides have to look as natural as possible. They should be able to see her photos 15 years later and look natural.When I do makeup, I want people to say: ” You look beautiful “. Not to say “ how beautiful your makeup is”. I work to enhance the person in the most simple and natural way.

Favorite products?

In photo shootings or if the person has very bad skin, I love the base of Giorgio Armani (Luminous silk foundation) because it covers a lot and does not look like a mask and it is not dry. Sometimes I apply it all over the face and sometimes I apply it where is needed. I also really like NARS foundtation and I usually use various colors.

How to choose the best foundation?14641947_1480210488673799_1520444908701248805_n

It is best to choose one that will go well with your skin tone at that time and a darker color  to contour. I mean,  simple contour, not like the madness is going on right now. If you wear the dark color in the center you’ll look very flat so instead use the pale color as illuminator in that area. Use the dark color  in the areas where the sun hits you the most. When buying makeup always go without it so you can pick the perfect color for you.

For me, it is important that a woman can learn to be without makeup because if you cannot go out without makeup is definitely because you do not feel good about yourself.

More makeup while aging?

For me the more makeup the older you will look. Use more contrast around the eyes (White). Blush and lipstick are very important because we lose that color as we age. If you do a strong eye makeup use a light color in the mouth and the other way around. In that way you can create a balance and your makeup won’t look overdone.

What are your favorite mascaras?

Dior show is my favorite because it is very dark and you can reapply to achieve the volume effect. If I ran out, I use L’Oreal Voluminous (color Carbon black), it is cheap and excellent.

Favorite Illuminators?img_6577

I like creams better that powders especially for older skins. My favorite are : Smash box illuminator , Nars (Multiple sticks) 

Mac cosmetics?

I love the eye shadow colors but the powders are very dry and I do not like them so much.

What can we find at Fatima’s makeup bag?fullsizerender

Dior Show, Elixery that is made here in Minneapolis and I made this color with her. I am fascinated by their strong colors. . Never go out without tweezers. Bobbi Brown (Pot Rouge) for lip and cheeks. Dior Fix it prime concealer, Kan Von D tattoo liner .

fullsizerender-1
After my Zumba class with Fatima

For more info visit her  page  www.fatimaolive.com

Facebook  and her instagram @fatimaolivebeauty

 Español

FATIVA OLIVE Maquilladora profesional “En la simplicidad está la belleza “

1420552384

Se describe así misma como Cubana-Americana, esposa, mamá, cheer leader de su hija y maquilladora profesional.

Fátima llega a la Florida (Usa) en la barriga de su madre. Asegura que sus padres fueron héroes por haber podido salir de Cuba con tan solo 20 pesos, sin poder hablar ni un poco de Inglés y sin saber que iban hacer.

Quién te inspiró en todo esto de el maquillaje profesional?14364887_1440398702654978_93604944127485597_n

Definitivamente mi hermana, ella es sumamente creativa.. Siempre se arreglaba el cabello, se ponía pestañas postizas y se maquillaba. Además recuerdo que me cocía toda la ropa de mis Barbies.

Cómo fueron tus inicios?

Estudie teatro y luego me saqué la licencia para ser peluquera en Miami. Durante el día estudiaba y en las noches trabajaba en el teatro.

Como fueron tus inicios en el mundo de el maquillaje profesional?

Mi novio tenía un amigo que era fotógrafo y un día me preguntó si quería hacer maquillaje para modelos y así fue que comencé en Boston. Luego me fui a Búfalo NY y un fotógrafo me paró en la calle y me dijo que me quería tomar unas fotos, aunque fue extraña la manera de su acercamiento, decidí acceder. Resulto ser, que ese fotógrafo era muy conocido en esa época y me contrató para ser la maquilladora profesional de su estudio. La verdad que fue muchísima suerte. Tremenda experiencia!.

Como comenzaste en Aveda?14641947_1480210488673799_1520444908701248805_n

Un amigo estaba usando los productos de Aveda y su novia era la representante en la Florida. Me llamaron porque la artista de maquillaje en las oficinas corporativas se acabada de ir y estaban buscando a una peluquera y maquilladora que tomara su puesto. En ese momento me mudé a Minneapolis y así fue que comencé  con ellos. Me encargué en el desarrollo de sus productos y entrenaba a los estudiantes. Fue una experiencia muy gratificante .Cuando Estee Lauder compró a Aveda decidí volver a ser free lance. Viajaba entre NYC y Miami. Aunque seguí relacionada a Aveda para el desarrollo de sus productos.

Con que otras compañías has trabajado?602854_orig

Unique Yambal que esta en sur América donde ayudé también en el desarrollo de sus productos. También trabaje en QVC vendiendo maquillaje. La verdad es que he hecho de todo..

Cual es tu filosofía de maquillaje?

Ahora todo el mundo esta como loco con todo lo que es el contour y el maquillaje estilo Kim Kardashian. Para mi en la simplicidad está la belleza. Yo creo que tenemos que apreciar nuestra belleza, el amor y la seguridad propia. El maquillaje para mi debería usarse para mejorar las imperfecciones y para resaltar las cosas que tenemos perfectas. Cuando maquillo procuro que la gente no se sienta que tiene un capa gruesa, mas bien intento que sea lo mas natural posible. No te voy a negar que si he hecho ese tipo de maquillaje pero ha sido tan poco que lo podría contar con una sola mano.

Cuando has hecho ese tipo de maquillaje?

Lo he hecho para presentaciones o cuando se necesita que alguien luzca mas joven o más viejo.

Maquillas a novias?

Realmente no. Mis clientes me contratan para sesiones fotográficas que toman como una semana de trabajo y tengo que estar viajando constantemente.  Obvio que si he hecho algunas bodas pero son pequeñas. No me gusta trabajar con las bodas grandes. Cuando lo he hecho, solo trabajo maquillando a la novia, no a toda la familia.

Como crees que debe ser el maquillaje ideal para una novia?14600944_1484927564868758_7528433427243472583_n

Pienso que las novias tienen que lucir lo más natural posible. Que sean capaces de ver sus fotos 15 años después y verse natural. Cuando maquillo a alguien quiero que cuando la vean digan “que bella estas”.. no que digan “que bello maquillaje”. Trabajo para enaltecer a la persona de la manera mas sencilla y natural.

Cuales son tus productos preferidos?

Cuando hago fotografía o si la persona tiene la piel muy mala, me encanta la base de Giorgio Armani (Luminous silk foundation) porque cubre mucho y no luce como una mascara, además no es seca. A veces no necesito ponérsela en toda la cara, a veces coloco solo donde lo necesite. También me gusta mucho la base de NARS y generalmente uso varios colores.

Como escoger la mejor base?img_6012

Lo mejor es escoger una que te vaya bien con tu tono de piel al momento y un segundo color un poco mas oscuro para hacer contour. Eso si, contour sencillo, no como la locura que están haciendo ahora. Si te pones color oscuro en el centro vas a lucir muy plana. Usa el color claro como iluminador en esa área. El oscuro en los puntos donde te quemarías con el sol. Cuando vayas a comprar maquillaje anda sin maquillaje para que puedas escoger el color perfecto. 

Para mi es importante que una mujer pueda aprender a estar sin maquillaje porque si uno no puede salir a la calle sin maquillaje definitivamente es porque no te sientes bien contigo misma.

Más maquillaje al envejecer? img_6015

Para mi mientras mas te  maquillaje al envejecer mas vieja te veras. Usa mas contraste alrededor de los ojos (Blanco). Usa rubor y pintura de labios porque eso es lo que vamos perdiendo a medida que vamos envejeciendo. Si te maquillas los ojos fuertes usa un color claro en la boca y si te los maquillas poco los ojos puedes usar un color fuerte en los labios. De esa manera creas un balance en el maquillaje y no se va a ver  recargado.

Cuales son tus rímeles preferidos?

Dior show es mi preferido porque es bien oscuro y lo puedes re aplicar para lograr el efecto volumen. Si se me acaba uso de L’Oreal Voluminus (color Carbon black), es económico y excelente.

Iluminador?

ME GUSTA MAS LAS CREMAS que los polvos sobre todo para las pieles mayores. Smash box iluminador, Nars (Multiple sticks) que son una maravilla.

Mac Cosmetics?

Me encantan los colores de las sombras pero los polvos son muy secos y no me gustan tanto.

Que no falta en tu bolso de maquillaje personal?fullsizerender

Dior Show, The Elixury de aquí de Minneapolis que por cierto este color lo hice con ella. Me fascinan los colores fuertes. El mejor delineador de ojos es de Blush. Nunca salgan si unas pinzas. Bobbi Brown (Pot Rouge) para labios y mejillas. Dior Fix it prime concealerKan Von D tattoo liner 

fullsizerender-1
Con FATIMA, después de mi clase de Zumba

Para mayor información visiten  www.fatimaolive.com

Facebook  e instagram @fatimaolivebeauty

Leave a Reply

