ARTIZAN (Unique and fashion forward Jewelry line) 100% handmade.

artizan_logo_200w.png

PARA ESPAÑOL BAJAR HASTA EL TEXTO EN AZUL

At her young age, Keren Yoshua creates a fashion forward and a post-modernist jewelry line. The pieces are unique in style, completely handmade where leather is the predominant element. The label has been featured on the covers and in the pages of many international magazines.The pieces are available at: Panama, Venezuela, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, France and Miami.

13567358_10154395561092871_2447219462884470929_n
Keren Yoshua

When and how did you start Artizan?

Artizan was born in Madrid in 2009, I was 24 years old and I just arrived from Caracas.  Although I wanted to pursue my career as a publicist, life turned out that I started ARTIZAN instead. At the beginning we imported jewelry made by artisans from Margarita Island in Venezuela. We went from shop to shop to makes offers to them.  It was super fun! Of course we walked the streets of Madrid every day. Then I had the idea of making my own designs and that’s when I stepped out from a business and it turned into a passion. We were in the jewelry fairs in Madrid, Paris and NYC. When I returned to Venezuela, I started my atelier with 7 awesomely talented girls, which they still work with me to this day and they are the ones who make this all possible. We have been in Miami for the past  2 years but our atelier is still in Venezuela.

How do you define your designs?14572204_10154691732607871_3976758124978250848_n

Very unique, you may like it or you may may not.

What are the materials you use  the most in your pieces?

Definitely leather, when I made my first piece in 2009 there has not been a piece without leather. For me leather is very sensual.

Where can we find your pieces?

Our pieces are available in Panama, Venezuela, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, France and Miami.

In Miami we are at:

 Koko & PalenkiBissuterie , Raul Munoz Salon, Saavy, MVM MiamiEarthy Chic

What inspires you to design your pieces?_70a8422

That is a hard question. What I can tell you is this: “when I imagine a design and it is like something comes into my mind abruptly and sometimes it’s hard for me to sleep.” In my head the process of devising a piece begins with the selection of materials, first I choose the materials I want to use and that  is when the whole design comes all together. I know my moment of glory to devise my designs for sure is at night.

How is a day at your atelier?

FUN!  Of course there are moments of much stress that you have to run to get production on time, and also there are very creative moments where I get really impressed by the ability of the Artizan team. Everything it’s hand made and for me that is  real magic!

How many collections a year?

Two collections per year

What are the colors for the next collection and the materials you will use?

I still do not know, I just started with the creative part but still I am not clear._70a1458

Why the name ARTIZAN?

Artizan means craftsman in French, as we were in Europe I liked the idea of giving a European name touch. Artizan seemed the name that best described our form and substance, a craftsman that does everything with his hands just like us.

Are all the pieces 100% handmade?

100% all hand made, we do not have a single machine!

For more info visit ARTIZAN , @artizanjoyeria 

Español

artizan_logo_200w

_70a6586

A su corta edad, Keren Yoshua crea una línea de bisutería con una visión futurista y post-modernista. Las piezas son únicas en su estilo, completamente hechas a mano donde el cuero es el elemento que predomina. Artizan ha aparecido muchas portadas y revistas internacionales. Las piezas se pueden conseguir en: Panamá, Venezuela, República Dominicana, Ecuador, Francia y Miami.

Cuándo y cómo empezaste Atizan? 

13528791_10154387827822871_5910984383716662017_n
Keren Yoshua

A R T I Z A N nació en la ciudad de Madrid en el año 2009, yo tenia 24 años, acaba de llegar de caracas y aunque quería dedicarme a mi carrera como Publicista por vueltas de la vida comencé con A R T I Z A N. Al principio importábamos las joyas que hacían los artesanos de una Isla en Venezuela llamada Margarita, e íbamos de tienda en tienda para ofrecerlas. Era muy divertido.. Por supuesto, caminábamos el día entero las calles de Madrid. Luego se me ocurrió la idea de hacer diseños propios y ahí es cuando pasó de ser un negocio a una pasión. Estuvimos en las ferias de bisutería en Madrid, en Paris y en NYC. A mi regreso a Venezuela monté un taller con 7 chicas impresionantemente talentosas, las cuales hasta el sol de hoy trabajan conmigo y son quienes hacen esto posible. Desde hace 2 años estamos en Miami pero nuestro taller sigue en Venezuela. 

Como defines  tus diseños ?

Muy únicos, puede que te gusten o puede que no, pero seguramente te parecerán únicos

Cuales son los materiales que más usas en tus piezas ?_70a6107

Definitivamente el cuero, creo que desde que hice mi primera pieza en el 2009 hasta hoy no ha habido una pieza que no lleve cuero. Considero el cuero muy sensual.

En Donde pueden conseguir tus piezas ?

Nuestras piezas se consiguen en Panamá, Venezuela, Republica Dominicana, Ecuador, Francia y Miami.

En Miami estamos es:  Koko & PalenkiBissuterie , Raul Munoz Salon, Saavy, MVM MiamiEarthy Chic

Como te inspiras para diseñar ?_70a1321

No tengo clara esta respuesta, todavía no he identificado bien que es lo que ocurre cuando empiezan a venir a mi mente ese bombardeo de ideas que no me dejan dormir. En mi cabeza el proceso de idear una pieza comienza con la selección de los materiales, primero escojo los materiales que quiero utilizar y de ahí sale la pieza. Sé que mi momento de gloria para idear es en la noche.

Cuéntanos cómo es un día en tu taller ?

Divertido!!!, hay momentos de mucho stress por que hay que correr para sacar la producción a tiempo, y momentos muy creativos donde me impresiono realmente de la habilidad que tiene el equipo de Artizan, en nuestro taller se hace todo muy manual, de verdad que hacen magia con las manos.

Cuentas colecciones sacas al año?_70a6836

  Dos Colecciones al año

Cuales son los colores para la próxima colección y que materiales que vas a usar?

Uy eso aún no lo sé, estoy comenzando con ello y aún no lo tengo claro.

Porque el nombre de ATIZAN ?

A R T I Z A N significa artesano en francés, como estábamos en Europa me gustaba la idea de darle un toque europeo al nombre, por eso fué en francés, y artesano me parecía el nombre que mejor describía nuestra forma y fondo. Un artesano hace todo con las manos al igual que nosotros.

Las piezas son 100% hechas a mano ?_70a8422

100% todo hecho a mano, no tenemos ni una sola maquinita chiquitica.

 

Para más información  ARTIZAN , @artizanjoyeria 

Leave a Reply

