VITAMIN D and Light Therapy helps with (S.A.D Seasonal affective disorder)

Summer is ending and I can smell the fall approaching, the nights are cooler, the air is crisper and, of course, the days are getting little by little shorter.

As many of you might know, I am originally from Caracas, Venezuela. I was used to live in a tropical weather all year around. Moving to Minnesota has given me a lot of challenges and I think one of the biggest is the weather. Yes, 6 months of winter…

The first years, the weather didn’t affect me with that thing commonly called WINTER BLUES or S.A.D (Seasonal affected disorder).  Lately, I started having those mood swings and a horrible sensation that I don’t even want to wake up from bed when winter comes. Lack of solar light and vitamin D might affect your mood and for sure my mood but not anymore…

The good news is that there are a lot of things you can do to have a happier and more enjoyable winter.

Here are a few tips that have worked for me 🙂

 

  1. Start taking Vitamin D and double the dose when fall starts:  For me living in Minnesota is about NOW (SEPTEMBER)!!! I normally take one table of Caltrate D a day in the summer months and now is when I start double the intake with an extra one at night.10995572
  2. Suck those sunny days left as much as you can: Sit outside, read a book under the sun, feel the nature and receive as much Vitamin D from the natural source.. (Please wear SPF. We need the Vitamin D, not the Ultra Violet Rays that later can develop skin cancer..) Unknown-1.jpeg
  3. Try to spend time outdoors in the winter months: Go ice Unknownskating, cross country, go for a walk, skiing… To be honest, this is the one thing that I do less because I hate the cold, but when I do it and most likely during those sunny days is  when I feel the happiest and more energized in the winter!
  4. THIS ONE IS MY FAVORITE.. Buy a Happy light!!! Yes yes, this acquisition has saved me last winter and made me a happier person. You can find a lot of models of on amazon. The one I bought it is a portable one that fits into my purse… This is the model HAPPY PORTABLE LIGHT .  If I don’t have time to sit under the light in the morning, where ever I go for sure I will bring my light and sit for at least 10 minutes and recharge myself.
    41Y+JRoCRUL._AC_US160_

     

  5. Exercise at regular basis to keep yourself motivated
  6. Eat healthy

It is now when you should start making this little changes to be sure to have an easier and happier winter..

 

Thanks for reading and I hope this one helps 🙂

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Sabrina says:

    Love this post! I live somewhere where winter lasts like half of the year and it can get so bad near the end 😔🙄

    Like

    1. Vani Beauty Tips says:

      Thank you …Hang in there Sabrina …. Try my tips to see if they help.. I live in in Minnesota and I have the same issue with winters 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

