MARA MONTAUTI (FASHION DESIGNER)

IMG_3311

IMG_3308For Spanish scroll down after the English Version

Para Español, baja el cursor y la encontraras debajo de la información en Ingles.

 

I met Mara many years ago. We lost contact until one day not so long ago, while checking on Instagram I see these amazing Jumpsuits that kept my attention completely. It turned out to be that Mara was the designer. I went crazy with the fabrics, the cut, the drape, the 70s look of her clothes. I contacted Mara through instagram and she gave me her phone number. YES, I purchase some of her clothes right away.. Despite living in Minneapolis, Mara made possible that her designs traveled to Minnesota. Every time I use one of her designs, someone stops me to ask where did I buy them. Definitely Mara Montauti is IN, she is trending  in VENEZUELA and wherever her designs go.

IMG_3307
Mara Montauti

 

1) When and how you did you start your career as a designer? 

Hello my dear Vane. Thank you for the interview. I started my business in a spontaneous and creative way. I love to travel and one day while traveling I felt in love with a Tunic from Valentino that it was made with gauze and a flowy romantic fabrics. It was then when I was inspired to start my career as a fashion designer.

I started being my own model and then wonderful women spoke for me. As Athina Klioumi, Dayana Mendoza, Patricia Zavala, among many others. Our pieces are still handmade and we cut small amounts at a time. Varying fabrics and molds for a client who likes to be unique and exclusive. On the other hand I understood that women should always have a source of income and be independent, which is essential for me.

2) Which are your favorite fabrics to work with? IMG_3305 (1)

For jumpsuits, we work with spandex. For shirts, we use cotton, and for tunics we use flowy fabrics and also gauze.

3) I see a big influence in your designs on the 70s by the using the wide boot. How would you define your designs?

Yes. The wide boot is a special stamp for us. The 70s were a very definite fashion in time. It reminds me of my mom looks and that’s something that will always be part of our DNA.

4) Who are your favorites designers and with whom do you feel the most identified when designing your pieces?

I like the work of Alice + Olivia, Herrera, Dolcce. Each delivers a very personal style and definition.IMG_3304

5) How many collections have you released?

It cant recall how many but in almost 10 years I try to design 2 collections per year.

6) What inspires you when designing your collections?

It’s a mix of the fashion trends with my personal touch. Sometimes ideas just flow and others is how I feel. The fabrics I want to use have a lot to do as well at the moment of designing.

7) Do you design with music? Or do you prefer to design in silence?

I love music, is part of my life. I come from the music industry. Listening to music allows me to view the better concept I want to convey.

8) What music do you listen to and what are your favorite artists?

I love Miguel Bose. I like the music that tells me things with words and content.

9) What kind of pieces you identify your work the best? Jumpsuits, blouses, sets, skirts?

Before our label were jumpsuits but I can already say that we do everything. At this time the long skirts with shirts are trending.IMG_3312

10) Patterns? Or solid colors?

Patterns without a doubt

11) What is the color of this season and the dominant in your collection?

Now, we are with stripes

12) If people want to buy one of your designs, how can they communicate with you? Do you send abroad?

Yes, we ship abroad through our social networks that I attend myself. If you want to contact Mara, you can do it through her instagram account @maramontauti

 

HERE IS MY LITTLE COLLECTION OF MARA MONTAUTI’S DESIGNS

AQUI MI PEQUEñA COLECCION  DE MARA MONTAUTI

EN ESPAÑOL

 

Conocí a Mara hace muchísimos anos. Perdimos el contacto hasta que un día no hace mucho, estaba chequeando en instagram y de repente veo unos diseños de bragas que me volvieron loca. Resulto ser que esos diseños eran de Mara. Enloquecí con las telas, el corte setentoso y la caída de su ropa. Me puse en contacto con Mara a través de su instagram, me dio su teléfono y la compra se hizo realidad. A pesar de vivir en Minneapolis, Mara hizo posible que sus diseños viajaran a Minnesota. Cada vez que uso uno de sus diseños, todo el mundo tiene que ver con ellos. Definitivamente, Mara Montauti es moda y esta IN en VENEZUELA Y en donde se llevan sus diseños. Que sigan los éxitos amiga. Aquí tienes a una fan x siempre.IMG_3309

1) Cuando y como comenzaste tu carrera como diseñadora ? 

Hola mi querida Vane . Gracias por la entrevista . Empecé mi oficio de una manera espontánea y creativa . Viajando me enamore de una Túnica de Valentino , en telas vaporosas y romántica y me inspire a querer hacer moda. Comencé siendo mi propia modelo y luego mujeres maravillosas hablaban por mi . Como Athina  Klioumi, Dayana Mendoza, Patricia Zavala , entre muchas otras . Nuestras piezas aún son artesanales ya que cortamos pocas cantidades una a una. Variando telas y moldes para una clienta que le gusta ser única y exclusiva . Por otra parte entendí que las mujeres debemos siempre tener una fuente de ingreso y ser independientes , lo que para mi es fundamental .

2) Con qué tipo de telas te gusta trabajar más ?

Trabajamos telas spandex para las bragas . Algodón en cuanto a camisas y algunas telas vaporosas para túnicas .

3) Veo mucho en tus diseños una influencia de los años 70 por el uso de la bota ancha. Cómo definirías tus diseños ? IMG_3303 (1)

Si. La bota ancha es un sello especial para nosotros.Los 70 fueron una época muy definida en la moda . Me recuerda a los looks  de mi mama y eso es algo que siempre va a formar parte de nuestro ADN.

4) Quienes son tus diseñadores favoritos y de ellos con cuales te sientes identificada al momento de diseñar tus piezas ?

Me gusta el trabajo de Alice  and  Olivia , de Herrera , Dolcce . Cada uno entrega un estilo muy personal y definido 

5) Cuantas colecciones has lanzado?

No llevó una cuenta pero en casi 10 años de carrera y sacamos dos colecciones al año.

6) En que te inspiras en tus colecciones ?  IMG_3313

Algunas veces en tendencias mezclado con mi toque personal . Otras veces simplemente las ideas fluyen según las telas y los ánimos .

7)Diseñas con música ? En silencio?

Con música ..La música es parte de mi vida . Vengo de la industria musical  . Lo que me permite visualizar y dar concepto a lo que quiero transmitir 

8)Que música te gusta escuchar y cuáles son tus artistas favoritos ?

Amo a Miguel Bose, me gusta que la música me diga cosas con letra y contenido.

9) Con qué tipo de piezas identificas más tu trabajo: bragas, blusas , conjuntos, faldas ?

Antes nuestro sello eran las bragas pero ya puedo decir que hacemos de todo . En este momento las faldas largas con camisas son recurrentes.

10) Estampados, O colores sólidos ? IMG_3310

Estampados sin duda alguna 

11) Cuál es el color de esta temporada y el que predomina en tu colección ?

Ahora estamos con las rayas 

12) Si la gente quiere adquirir uno de tus diseños, como se comunican contigo ? envías a el exterior ?

Si hacemos envíos al exterior a través de nuestras redes sociales que atiendo yo misma .

Pueden comunicarse con Mara a travez de su instagram @maramontauti

Leave a Reply

