SKIPPING MEALS TO LOSE WEIGHT?

Mostly every day in my Zumba® or Barre classes there are at least one person that comes up to me and asks: DO YOU EAT? and my response is; “OF COURSE I EAT BUT I EAT INTELLIGENT AND HEALTHY”.

There is a big myth related to losing weight and not eating. People think that if they skip a meal they will lose weight but the reality is that the more we skip the slower our metabolism gets. As a result, we will store more fat because the body doesn’t have the daily basic calories to survive so instead it will store anything we ingest to keep the energy.

We need to train our brain and body to eat intelligent at least 5 times a day. When I say INTELLIGENT I mean including: Proteins, good carbs, good fats, vegetables and fruits.

LEARNING HOW TO EAT WELL TAKES TIME BUT WHEN YOU SHIFT YOUR BRAIN TO EAT HEALTHY, YOU WILL BE ABLE TO GO TO RESTAURANTS AND ORDER INTELLIGENT.

HERE ARE GREAT EXAMPLES OF SNACKS I LOVE:

NUTS: I love nuts, so I carry some with me wherever I go. They are a great source of good fat and energy.

HUMMUS:  Hummus is the perfect snack, dip some carrots, celery and or other veggies, sometimes I add a little bit of grill chicken to that mix and it really fills me up.

GUACAMOLE: Guacamole is another great fat source (the good one); you can always eat some protein and spread some guacamole to add some flavor. Also you can dip some veggies.

TURKEY OR OTHER TYPE OF PROTEIN:  protein is important because it helps us feel fuller longer. Having protein around slows down digestion making us more satisfied and less likely to go back for seconds.

WHITE EGG OMELET: A very good source of protein and a great snack if you need something bigger than a hand full of nuts. Make an omelet with egg whites add some protein, veggies and voila!! It will make you feel fuller and energized.

Nutrition is a subject that I could spend hours talking about. I will spread my tips little by little. I will share my knowledge, secrets, myths and thoughts.

In my next one I will talk about CARBS….

Feel free, to like, comment and or/share .. Thanks for reading 🙂

 

Stay tuned

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Gabi del moral says:

    Thank you Vanessa for the great tips.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Vani Beauty Tips says:

      You welcome Gabi. Thanks for taking the time to read my blog. If you have any questions don’t hesitate to contact me.

      Like

Leave a Reply

